ALA board and office

ALA board and office

ALA board

The American Latvian Association is governed by a Board of Directors that is elected annually at a Congress held to discuss issues and set priorities. Congresses are held in different cities each year to encourage geographically distributed participation.

Currently the ALA Board of Directors consists of nine fully fledged members (plus chairs of the Cultural Foundation and the Latvian Institute), all of whom serve as unpaid volunteers. The President and Board Chair since 2015 has been Pēteris Blumbergs.

Pēteris Blumbergs

Mārtiņš Andersons
Vice President

Anita Grivins

Andrejs Kancs
Assistant Treasurer

Nora Muižniece Steele
Board Secretary

Valda Grinberga
Director, Office of Cultural Affairs

Elisa Freimane
Director, Office of Education

Tatjana Žagare-Vītiņa
Director, Information Office

Dzintars Dzilna
Director of Public Affairs

Kristīne Ģiga
Fundraising and Membership Director

Kaija Petrovska
Office for Support and Aid to Latvia

Miķelis Ģiga
Director, Office of Sports Affairs


ALA Cultural Foundation:
Inese Stravelli
Director, ALA Cultural Foundation

ALA Audit Committee:
Mārtiņš Jansons
Diana Kārkliņa
Una Veilande

ALA office

400 Hurley Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850-3121
+1 301 340 1914

Marisa Gudrais
Executive Director, Program Director

Baiba Dolinsky
Bookkeeper, Membership Assistant

Lilita Bergs
Museum Director

ALA’s offices are open during normal business hours and are located at 400 Hurley Ave., Rockville, MD 20850-3121.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, if we cannot be reached via +1 301 340 1914, please contact us via e-mail.